The Right Goals

I don’t know what I want to do with my life. Not a clue. I, so far, have never found any career which made me think, “yeah, I could do this for my entire life.” And for a while, especially during my GCSEs, that really scared me. Since then I’ve figured though that it’s okay not to have a definite plan for the big things in your life, and that maybe the opportunities which arise for me will make me realise what I want to do. Maybe I’ll have several careers. The fact that I don’t know what I’m doing however does cause me to have slight mental breakdowns every few weeks, so I sometimes list vague goals and aims which help me feel like I’m on track and I have some idea of where I’m going.

Short Term Goals:

  • Be as happy as possible
  • Get a job (I’ve just left my job, but that’s a whole other story)
  • Make a proper effort to start volunteering
  • Continue to make changes to my lifestyle to be healthier
  • Care less; stop getting so worried about things that aren’t important
  • Take more chances
  • Make more of an effort with family and friends
  • Write more

Long Term Goals:

  • Complete University
  • Have a family (this is a super, super, so far in the distance I can barely see it goal)
  • Have a job I enjoy
  • Travel!
  • Do as many ‘once in a lifetime’ style things as possible

Nicole x

