Jobs And Happiness

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Just over a week ago I quit my job, and yesterday I officially left. I was working as a waitress in a local independent coffee shop. The main three reasons I took a gap year were to grow up a bit, to make sure I really wanted to go to uni, and to earn and save money, so giving up my job was a big decision considering I don’t have another job lined up.

I think that primarily everyone’s aim should logically be to be happy. I do know however that that can’t always be everyone’s first aim; people need money, food, a home to live in which can stop people making decisions which eliminate things in their life causing unhappiness. I think I’ve maybe gone the wrong way about this, and that sticking it out for a few more weeks whilst looking elsewhere would have been a good plan, but hindsight is great. Things that a few days ago that seemed unbearable now seem bearable.

I think I need to look on the positive. I will find another job. I did earn and save a lot of money from my previous job. I grew in confidence, learned to stand up for myself and I met some of the loveliest people.

I don’t really think there’s a round up for this post, it’s turned into a bit of a ramble. All I want to say is that where it can, happiness comes first, even if that means scary change or small sacrifices.

Nicole x

