Disclaimer: I Can’t Take Photos

Okay. So the main reason I decided to start a blog was because I really love writing, and although I never thought I would miss work, I do really miss being in education and having to write pages and pages of things all of the time. But I just thought I would share this little confession with you; I can’t take photos.

disallowed-forbidden-photography-2649-527x350

So first of all, I’ve never been able to take any photos resembling anything nice-looking (queue flashbacks of year 9 art when every other lesson was taking photographs oh my God make it stop.) I think I’ve sort of always pretended that I could take photos but just didn’t, because taking photographs and enjoying taking good photographs always seems like something everyone can do. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who has said they don’t enjoy photography.

caf---coffee-man-3760-466x350

The thing is, I really wish I could take good photographs. I do agree with the majority that a blog’s value is half in the writing and half in the photos and presentation, and it’s inarguable that a blog with lovely, high resolution, perfectly set out images will probably gain more interest. I don’t know, maybe it’s just because I don’t have a really good camera (who am I kidding that’s just an excuse.) Every time I really try to take nice photos for a post, they just don’t look right, and I feel like they ruin it and make my blog look amateur and then I think ‘well maybe I just shouldn’t do a post at all’ and it’s a slippery slope. A lot of the time I just end up using free images. I guess I want to prove to myself that I can take good photographs if I try hard enough.

book-crime-criminals-2955-501x350

Maybe I just need practice I don’t know. If I carry on and persevere maybe I’ll end up enjoying taking photos? Hopefully? Maybe? Does anyone else feel this way?

โ€œThere are no bad pictures; that’s just how your face looks sometimes.โ€ – Abraham Lincoln

Nicole x

