Horror

Horror films are my favourite movies to watch, I love them so much. In the summer between finishing my GCSEs and starting A Levels where there was about a three month gap in which I watched a lot of horror films. I’m going to estimate maybe one every, or every other, day. Over almost three months that’s a lot of horror films. I actually think I became slightly desensitised to them for a bit so I had to take a break for my sanity haha. But watching that many does mean I have a lot of favourites.

1. The Ring

tumblr_niwhwpjJy11trp42fo1_500

“You start to play it… and it’s like somebody’s nightmare. Then suddenly, this woman comes on. Smiling at you, right? Seeing you… through the screen. Then when it’s over, your phone rings. Someone knows you watched it. And what they say is, “You will die in seven days”. And exactly seven days later…”

2. The Grudge

tumblr_n4ib2boZT91riah6uo5_500

“Three years ago, three of my colleagues were investigating what happened in that house. Two died mysteriously. The third was never found.”

3. The Shining

tumblr_ngwwlp0ES31s535xbo3_500

My predecessor in this job left a man named Charles Grady as the Winter caretaker. And he came up here with his wife and two little girls, I think were eight and ten. And he had a good employment record, good references, and from what I’ve been told he seemed like a completely normal individual. But at some point during the winter, he must have suffered some kind of a complete mental breakdown. He ran amuck and killed his family with an axe. Stacked them neatly in one of the rooms in the West wing and then he, he put both barrels of a shot gun in his mouth.”

4. Saw

tumblr_ngp7n3zk6L1r8pxv5o1_500

“Rise and shine, Adam. You’re probably wondering where you are. I’ll tell you where you might be. You might be in the room that you die in. Up until now, you’ve simply sat in the shadows watching others live out their lives. But what do voyeurs see when they look into the mirror? Now I see you as a strange mix of someone angry, yet apathetic. But mostly just pathetic. So are you going to watch yourself die here today, Adam, or do something about it?”

5. 28 Days Later

tumblr_nesoibY2c21r4gz40o1_500

“Well, I think Bill’s got a point. If you look at the whole life of the planet, we… you know, man, has only been around for a few blinks of an eye. So if the infection wipes us all out, that is a return to normality.”

6. The Conjuring

tumblr_narwthx7Mq1qcav3so2_1280

“Diabolical forces are formidable. These forces are eternal, and they exist today. The fairy tale is true. The devil exists. God exists. And for us, as people, our very destiny hinges upon which one we elect to follow.”

7. Insidious

tumblr_narwthx7Mq1qcav3so1_1280

“I came today because last night I had a dream about this place. I was in this house, but it was late at night. I was afraid. I went into your bedroom, but you were both asleep. I knew I was asleep in the dream, but I could feel that someone was awake in the house. I went into Dalton’s room. There was something in there with him. It was standing there in the corner. I asked it “Who are you?” and it said it was a visitor. I said “What do you want?”. It said Dalton. I can still hear that voice.”

8. The Exorcist

tumblr_ng1utiUp6e1r1yqj1o6_r1_500

“Especially important is the warning to avoid conversations with the demon. We may ask what is relevant but anything beyond that is dangerous. He is a liar. The demon is a liar. He will lie to confuse us. But he will also mix lies with the truth to attack us. The attack is psychological, Damien, and powerful. So don’t listen to him. Remember that – do not listen.”

9. The Blair Witch Project

tumblr_n2s3s6V5BG1r146jzo1_1280

“OK, here’s your motivation. You’re lost, you’re angry in the woods, and no one is here to help you. There’s a witch and she keeps leaving shit outside your door. There’s no one here to help you! She left little trinkets, you took one of them, she ran after us. There’s no one here to help you! We walked for 15 hours today, we ended up in the same place! There’s no one here to help you, THAT’S your motivation! THAT’S YOUR MOTIVATION!”

10. Rosemary’s Baby

tumblr_mmlzb7lWLk1r35ggmo1_500

“Come with us quietly, Rosemary. Don’t argue or make a scene. Because if you say anything more about witches or witchcraft, we’re gonna be forced to take you to a mental hospital. You don’t want that, do you?”

Nicole x

