Lucid Dreaming

CLOUD2

Lucid dreaming has always fascinated me, and it has always been something I wish I could do. I am pretty sure that when I was younger I did have a lucid dream, although at the time I didn’t know that that was what was happening.

CLOUD1

In the dream I was standing by the side of a street in America. I was on some steps that lead up to a house, looking out onto the street, and there was a procession of soldiers in full uniform with guns marching down the street. From what I can remember of this dream I had when I was 5 or 6, that’s all it was. What made it more of a nightmare though was that whilst I was in the dream, I was so aware that it was a dream, but there was nothing I could do to wake myself up, which was terrifying because I felt so trapped like I couldn’t move.

CLOUD

I’ve been looking into lucid dreaming recently because I think it’s fascinating, and I’d really love to be able to do it. I think that maybe if I knew I was doing it and didn’t think that I was going to be stuck in a dream forever it might be slightly less frightening haha.

Being able to control your dreams is the part of lucid dreaming that makes me want to be able to do it most. It must be so amazing to be able to feel as though your dream is real, and that you can control is as you can reality. Being able to lucid dream is also supposedly able to help ease nightmares. I am a strong believer that there is always a meaning behind a dream. Theories behind lucid dreaming suggest that if you can lucid dream, it will give you a stronger knowledge of what your dreams mean, as you can interpret them as they are happening and remember them more strongly.

Lucid dreaming is something which a person can develop with practice, and by using techniques such as keeping a dream journal, reality testing (such as carrying some words written on paper, looking at them, looking away, and then looking back to see of they’ve changed. When you get into this habit, once you think you might be dreaming you will remember to do this; words often change in dreams when you look back at them, therefore making this a reliable way to check whether you are awake or dreaming.) Also dream signs are a good technique, these are indication you are dreaming and can be things such as talking with deceased people, flying, or unusually coloured animals.

This is something I really, really want to try. It’s such a fascinating subject.

Nicole x

Some websites which give lots of helpful information on the subject!

Lucidity

TED Talk

Another TED Talk

