Book Talk

BOOK1

One of the things I wanted to do more this year was reading. It was sort of an unofficial New Year’s Resolution. Over the last two years when I was in Sixth Form there were so many books I had to read for so many different subjects that I sort of lost a bit of my love for reading. That’s why, especially whilst I’m not in education, I wanted to start reading again.

BOOK

January didn’t go great. I read an impressive total of 0 books. February’s started off a bit better though with 4 so far. I think the problem is I sometimes get into a rut with reading where I can’t find a book I really want to read so I stop bothering. This month though I decided that a good way to kick start reading would be to read a book which I love and a book that wasn’t too long. That’s why I read The Great Gatsby at the start of this month. It’s one of my favourite books, I’ve read it countless times, it’s short enough to read in a few hours, and it’s brilliantly written with so much meaning.

Some of the other books in my reading pile at the moment are:

  • Nyctophobia by Christopher Fowler  *Currently Reading*
  • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Paper Towns by John Green
  • Misery by Stephen King
  • The Stand by Stephen King
  • Marley And Me by Josh Grogan
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

“If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all.” – Oscar Wilde

Nicole x

