TED Talks

TED-Talks-Ideas-Worth-Spreading-on-Love

One of the things I do most on YouTube is probably getting lost watching TED Talk after TED Talk. It’s as though as soon as I watch one there’s always another suggested one next to it that I feel like I need to see. I think most people have seen TED Talks before, but just in case you haven’t, TED Talks are videos from TED Talks Conferences. The TED website says that “TED stands for Technology, Entertainment, Design — three broad subject areas that are collectively shaping our world. But a TED conference is broader still, showcasing important ideas from any discipline, and exploring how they all connect. The format is fast-paced: 50+ talks over the course of a week, as well as morning and evening get-togethers. As they take in the program, attendees and speakers from vastly different fields can cross-fertilize and draw inspiration from unlikely places. This is the magic of TED.”

Some of my favourites are:

  • Ken Robinson: How to escape education’s death valley 

  • Cameron Russell: Looks aren’t everything. believe me, I’m a model.

  • Jon Ronson: Strange answers to the psychopath test

  • Susan Cain: The power of introverts

  • Andrew Solomon: Love, no matter what, and How the worst moments in our lives make us who we are

  • Zak Ebrahim: I am the son of a terrorist. Here’s how I chose peace.

  • Paul Miller: A year offline, what I have learned

  • Leslie Morgan Steiner: Why domestic violence victims don’t leave

Nicole x

