University and Careers

castle-clouds-garden-968-510x350

I don’t think I will ever be able to cope with the idea of having one career path. I’m just too indecisive. It’s something I’ve been thinking about quite a lot lately because people, and mainly older people, seem to give me a certain type of look when I tell them that I have absolutely no idea what I want to do in the future. The conversation usually goes like this. “Oh so you’re taking a gap year. Have you applied to university?” “Yeah I applied last year actually. I’m studying History.” “So you want to be a historian ey?” “No, I don’t know what I want to do after uni.” “You don’t have any idea at all?” “Nope.” “Oh.”

I just don’t understand why everyone, and I mean everyone seems to think I should have my career for the next 40 years planned out already. Am I the only one who thinks it’s so stupid to assume? How could anyone possibly know for definite what job they want. I have friends who know what they want to do when they leave university, actually do pretty much have their careers planned out, and have chosen university courses which will help them get to where they want to be job-wise. I think that’s great, and it’s probably a lot less stressful than having absolutely no clue as to what direction you’re going in. It just confuses me that people find that acceptable, but can’t see how acceptable it also is to not really know what you want to do, and to just take your time, take the opportunities which come to you, and choose a university course purely because you enjoy it.

Nicole x

