Breaking Habits

falalaf

I wanted to talk about something which I can’t entirely remember very clearly (great way to start I know.)

It’s basically a method based around the theory that it take 21 days to break a habit. This post is about a method of breaking habits revolving around this theory. The method involves wearing a band around one of your wrists. I can’t exactly remember where this method comes from or who thought of it. When you do what you’re trying not to do (if that makes sense), like for example complaining, you take the band off of the wrist it’s on and put it onto your other wrist. The aim is to eventually keep the band on the same wrist for 21 days, by which point theoretically the habit will have been broken.

I did this a few years ago when I was trying to break the habit of complaining. I can’t remember whether I did the 21 days or not, but even if I did I think I’m probably in need of doing it again haha. I do recall noticing though that I was complaining less and less and I was keeping the band on one wrist for longer and longer each time. I just think this is a really easy and effective way of breaking bad habits, and making yourself aware of when you’re doing them!

Nicole x

