Top 3 Revision Tips

revi

I left sixth form last June (I think, oh my God that was a long time ago) and I’m starting university in September so I’ve done my fair share of revision (and I’m so glad I don’t have to do it this year.) But since I’ve spent a lot (too much in my opinion) of my time revising I thought I’d share some advice/tips that I have, not that i’m guaranteeing they’ll be helpful in any way haha.

1. Figure out your ‘time’

One of my old teachers used to say that everyone revises differently and people revise better at different times, whether that be 3:00 in the afternoon or 3:00 in the morning (although you might be a bit tired if you do that.) It’s best in my opinion to either try working at different times or see when you feel the urge to revise, ha, and see when you remember most and manage to get the most work done. I for example find it a lot easier to revise early in the morning between 7:00am – 2:00pm.

2. Organise

Ideally you’ll have kept your notes etc. organised as you’ve been making them throughout the year/ two years/ however many years as this makes revising so much easier and less daunting, a lesson I learnt the hard way. If you haven’t though, which I’m definitely guilty of doing in the past, it’s probably best to organise everything before you start revising. Make sure you have all your notes, resources, text books and revision tools such as flash cards to hand. It makes everything so much easier. If everything’s disorganised it makes it almost impossible to keep track of what you have and haven’t gone over and to know whether you’ve included everything. While we’re on this topic actually, I’d also just mention that I think a revision timetable is essential (something which is also a lot easier to create if everything’s organised.) Leave a little extra time than you think you’ll need for each topic just in case something’s not sticking in your mind, and make sure you time how long each area of revision will take you as accurately as you can. You can always alter it if one thing turns out to be quicker to revise than you thought and one’s taking a bit longer.

3. Find your way of learning

As most people know, everyone learns in different ways. I think it’s important to know that a lot of the time the most effective way of revising isn’t just sitting in front of text or exercise book and looking at notes. Use as many different techniques as possible until you find one which really makes the information stick in your mind. For example, History was probably the subject which I had to remember the most for while I was in sixth form. Reading pages and pages of historiography just wasn’t working, so I used timelines and mind maps and graphs and diagrams to group together all of the information I needed to know. I find it easier to be able to memorise a colour coded mind map and then picture it again in my head whilst in the exam, imagery is a really useful tool!

Nicole x

