Job Interview Preparation

rud

I’m definitely not an expert on job interviews, but I’ve been to quite a few *moment of silence for my struggle* so I know what it’s like. I’m awful when it comes to nerves and worrying just in general aspects of my life, which means I’m terrible when it comes to interviews. I overthink and freak myself out so much that sometimes it comes across during the interview, which is the worst thing. Over all of the interviews I’ve been to though, I’ve learnt not to do this and how to just train myself to not think about it too much, at least not think about the negative things.

An important part of preparation is research. A lot of job interviews I’ve been to haven’t actually asked me a lot about their company, but some have. I once went to an interview for a sales assistant at a skincare brand and they asked me extensive questions about the history of the company, the products, what the products do, how I would sell them etc. and if I hadn’t have done research I would have looked a bit of an idiot. You don’t always have to know a great deal though, that’s an extreme situation and no other interviewer has ever asked that much of me. Knowing a bit of basic knowledge about the history of the company and what they sell/do is great; even if they don’t ask you about it it gives you confidence because you know what you’re talking about and which of your strengths are beneficial enough to speak about and so on.

Research in terms of knowing yourself is also important. Go over your CV and what you told them in your application, so you know exactly what they know about you. Another thing which falls into this is preparing answers for questions. If you go to a lot of interviews for similar jobs you’ll see that the questions they ask are often really similar, which makes it easier to prepare answers. Don’t script your answers word for word but just have a general idea of what points you’d answer with, what achievements you want them to know, what skills are relevant to the job. As well as this make sure you know answers to the questions they ask that are more essential questions, rather than conversation to find out about what positives you can bring to the job. By this I mean questions like “why did you leave you last job?” “How many hours do you want to work and when can you work them?” “How would you be getting to from work? Will this affect what hours you can work?”

As I said earlier, not overthinking it is one of the most important things to me as I do it a lot. I find it difficult to find the balance between being prepared enough that I know everything and not being too prepared that I’ve made myself overly nervous. I usually research everything I need to know a couple of days before, and then either on the evening before or the morning of the interview I skim over it.

Nicole x

