Existential Crisis

nature-red-bush-young-medium

One of the things I love most about blogging is being able to talk about things I really care about and have opinions on. I think at some point in most people’s lives they start to question the meaning of life and existentialism etc. I personally do this all the time and it’s something I wish I didn’t do because I usually come to the conclusion that life is essentially pointless.

Screen Shot 2015-06-13 at 13.14.49

It’s quite difficult to put effort into what you’re doing when you’re constantly thinking about how in the bigger picture your life doesn’t matter. (What a cheery post this is turning out to be huh, I bet you’re glad you decided to read this.)

I think the key to not getting bogged down by things like this is to know when to let it go. (Easier said than done, I know.) Once I start thinking about these things it is really difficult to become oblivious to it again, but I just try to distract yourself. I’m not one (at the moment that is) who really believes in religion, or fate, or the universe planning thing or looking out for you, although I sometimes wish I did. I do sort of believe that the ‘meaning of life’ (if there even is one) is probably just to be happy, because that’s the only thing you can be sure of. No one knows what’s going to happen in the future, and no matter how successful you are or how much of a difference you make to the world, one day it’s all going to be gone. All you can really be sure of is the present, and it’s probably best to be as happy a possible in it.

What I’ve written makes it seem a bit like existential crisis’ are a bad thing, but I’m not entirely sure they are. It depends on your view point. At times it is quite depressing when you think about the pointlessness of life, but at other times I find it’s the opposite. Recognising the shortness of our lives, and the certainty of death almost encourages me to just do what I want. I’m not entirely sure if that makes sense. The fact that nothing we do really matters in the grand scheme of life, and the universe, motivates me to do what I want and to be who I want because whatever I do and however I act, no matter how big the consequences on my life, I know that one day it literally will not matter one bit. And in 500 years no one will probably even remember I existed, which is both a terrifying and quite comforting thought.

This post isn’t really a well put together piece of writing, I guess I just felt like rambling about something I’ve been thinking about a bit.

Nicole x

A site that might prompt an existential crisis

