Should I Go To University?

2

University is something I’ve thought about a lot. I think that there are lots of good things about it; you further your education, meet lots of people, and get a unique experience, but you also get thousands of pounds of debt, the stress of more exams and assessments, and without a definite guarantee that it will land you with a better job than if you hadn’t gotten a degree.

I will be going to university, but I don’t know what I want to do when I leave, or whether a degree will be necessary for the career I go into. When I was deciding whether or not to go to university, I found it pretty simple to say that I was because I know that if I didn’t it personally would be something I’d always regret, but I still thought a lot about the pos and cons of it.

Pros:

  • You get the opportunity to further your education and learn solely about a subject you’re interested in and passionate about.
  • You meet lots of new people.
  • You have the chance to move to anywhere you want to in the country with relative ease.
  • A degree, most of the time, opens doors to careers which you otherwise wouldn’t be able to enter. It’s a lifelong investment which presents so many opportunities.
  • There’s a good chance you’ll earn more in the future.
  • You don’t have to pay back your loan until you earn a certain amount of money.

Cons:

  • When you leave you’ll be in thousands of pounds of debt
  • If you change your mind about what you’re doing it’s a big thing to walk away from, and a lot of money to have spent. There’s a lot of pressure to do well, maybe even more so than in school because you’re investing your own money into it, and a lot of money at that.

Nicole x

